St. Mary's - Basswood Grove
Denmark Township Historical Soc.
Where 2 Rivers Merged, MN Came Together
Shift to Home page
See Our Upcoming Events
View Our Press Releases
Read about Our History
Photos from the Historic Society
Access a Membship Form
Horse Power Farming
View our Newsletters
See Related Website Links
Our Board of Directors
Our newsletter presenting our efforts performed
in regard to our mission statement:
"To preserve the history, stories, and traditions of Denmark Township and its people, so that the values and achievements of past generations will inspire and guide those of the future."
Published bimonthly by the
Denmark Township Historical Society
Volume 1, Number 1; January - February 2005
Members are invited to attend meetings of the board of the Denmark Township Historical Society every other month, usually held in homes. Programs are open to the public at no charge and take place every other month, usually at St. Mary's Episcopal Church on St. Croix Trail. Upcoming events include:
   Tuesday, February 15, 7 p.m. Board meeting at Afton State Park's Information Center. Enter at 70th and St. Croix Trail S., follow the road until you get to the Center on the bluff.
  Tuesday, March 15, 7 p.m. "The Century Farms of Denmark Township" Program at St. Mary's Episcopal Church, 8435 St. Croix Trail S. Everyone welcome. We're inviting people who live on farms that are 100 years old or more to bring stories and photos, including these: The Ephraim Whitaker farm (1846) on Highway 10; Thomas Hetherington farm (1848) on St. Croix Trail; Oscar Davies farm (1852) on St. Croix Trail; George Van Alstine farm (1862) on 90th Street; O'Connor, Frost, Stoffel farm (1883) on St. Croix Trail; Frederick Gorgus farm (1883) on Neal Avenue; Pechacek farm on 110th Street.
  If you live on a farm that is 100 years old or more and are not on this list, please let us know so we can include you. Call Valda Van Alstine at 651.436.3302 or President Walter Pechacek at 651.437.8383.
  Tuesday, April 19, 7 p.m. Board meeting at Afton State Park's Information Center.
The fourth annual RiverFolk Festival, a celebration of life along the rivers, is set for Sunday, July 31, 1-5 p.m. at Carpenter St. Croix Valley Nature Center, 12805 St. Croix Trail. The Center will co-sponsor the event as a community service and provide a big tent for activities. There is no admission charge.
A committee chaired by Lyla Davies and Mavis Voigt is organizing the event, and there are many opportunities for members and friends to help. Mayme Johnson, Senior Naturalist at Carpenter Nature Center, will help coordinate activities. CNC will plan some activities for children. Committees are being organized and we encourage you to volunteer to help. Committees include:

Greeter and arrangements: President Walter Pechacek, Walt and Jean Mills
Children's games and activities : Pam Monno and Angie Brumbaugh, chairs.
Traditional music. Mavis and Lyla
Crafts. JoAnne Olson
Hayride and visit to historical cemetery. Rod Olson and Skip Soleim
Ice cream social and beverages : Bill and Eileen Krueger, chairs
Heritage bake sale : (TBD) , chairs. Committee members: Valda and Oliver Van Alstine, Shirley   Keene, Pat Keller, Karen Schulte
Silent auction with special antiques table : (TBD) chair; Committee members: Dar and Lauren
    Cran, Susan Horn, Jim Cran
Raffle drawing for beautiful hand-carved wood objects created by master craftsman Rod Olson.
Calendars and Memberships : Jean and Wayne Boyd
Publicity: Mavis Voigt, Peg Powers (poster)
Finances: Jim Cran, Bob Voigt
Educational exhibits about the St. Croix and Mississippi
Book exhibits about region
Emergency: Bob Schmitt
Traffic control: Jim Fitzpatrick of CNC, Lyla
Toilet facilities:- Lyla

The January 18 program at St. Mary's Episcopal Church featured David Geister portraying Philander Prescott, interpreter at Fort Snelling and founder of the town across the St. Croix river that carries his name. Geister described his adventures in the early 1820s when the area was still a wilderness. Prescott worked and lived with Native Americans, yet, ironically, was one of the first individuals killed in the 1862 uprising along the Minnesota river.
In January, Membership Chair Jean Boyd sent a letter to members asking them to renew. Your dues and participation are very important to this non-profit organization. Our mission is to preserve the stories, traditions and historic buildings of Denmark Township to benefit its citizens of today and in the future. Currently we are working on acquiring the township's remaining schoolhouse (The Valley Schoolhouse District #34, built in 1852.) The goal is to renovate it and make it available for educational purposes.
This year is the fifth year of operation for the Denmark Township Historical Society. We count on all of you to help make it a success. Please invite friends and family members to join, too. Becoming a member is a great way to get acquainted with longtime and current residents of the area and to learn more about the region in which you live. Jean Boyd's phone number is651.436.8031.
Did you miss getting this year's historic calendar, created by Wayne Boyd with the help of a few friends? It is filled with interesting information and photos of events and families in the township. They can be ordered by mail for $10 from Bill and Eileen Krueger, 651.436.6558, or they can be purchased for $8 at the Just Thinking... Books and Ice Cream store, 1208 Vermillion in Hastings (next to Emily's Bakery) or The Point Restaurant, Highway 10 and 61.
We appreciate the sponsors whose donations made the calendar possible, including Afton Alps, Gerlach Service Inc., The Tree House, Inc., Carpenter Nature Center, Buell's Landscape Center, Out Back Nursery, Valley Pontiac Buick GMC, Hastings Chrysler Center, Ralph Peterson (Coldwell Banker Burnet Realty), McDougall's Apple Junction, Fischer Croix Farm Orchard, Afton Apple Orchard, Whistling Well Farm, Herman Contracting and The Point Restaurant. Stop in and thank these generous donors.

As of January 1, the officers of DTHS are:
President: Walter Pechacek (651.437.8383)
Vice President: Lyla Davies (651.436.4493)
Recording Secretary: JoAnne Olson (651.437.9642
Corresponding Secretary: Pam Monno (651.436.1311)
Treasurer: Jim Cran (651.459-5668)

Board members include:
Jean and Wayne Boyd (651.436.8031)
Walt Mills (651.436.4425)
Lauren Cran (651.436.7639)
Bill and Eileen Krueger (651.436.6558)
Mavis Voigt (651.437.9454 or 612.823.4934).

Officers are appointed for one year and board members for three years. Both can be reappointed.

Home DTHS Events Press Releases Township History Photo Gallery
  DTHS Membership DTHS Calendars DTHS Newsletters Historic Links Board of Directors  
Copyright © 2005 by DTHS /  |  Contact the Webmaster  |  Revised: 12 February 2005